OEWG Spring Meeting 14 April 2022, 12 pm – 1pm Online via Teams

Attendance: Brenna Clarke Gray, Brenda Smith, Brian Lamb, Carolyn Ives, Catherine Dishke, Christine Miller, Crystal Huscroft, Danielle Collins, Jamie Noakes, John Belshaw, Ken Monroe, Marie Bartlett, Natasha Ramroop Singh, Paul Martin, Paul Michel, Sarah Gibson, Sharon Brewer, Sierra Rae, Steven Earle, Verena Roberts

- 1. Welcome and Territorial Acknowledgement from Paul Michel, Advisor to the President.
- 2. Ken Monroe presented the draft report, "The Future of OE at TRU." See attached PPT. Meeting participants raised the following points:
 - Importance of OEDRG grants coordinator/facilitator role.
 - Importance of BCcampus; but also now looking primarily for matching funds.
 - Need to recognize the role of OLFMs/students and lack of support from RO/TRUSU projects.
 - Role of open tenure processes.
 - How is reputation captured, etc. Need to expand on the reputation rather than risk its loss.
 - How do we reflect the issues of sustainability with open that gets reflected in the costs/risks of open without making it sounds like the OERDG is the problem?
 - Separate OERDG budget out from the OL funding section.
 - Need to include a section on the open software supports available to OE development.
 - Bookstore as a partner in making students aware of courses that use OER. Registrar's Office as a partner in labelling ZTC for campus courses.
 - Add "I don't do research" to the research qs in faculty survey.
 - Need to work on OER awareness for students.
 - OER as a place to increase movements towards Indigenization growth capacity to include/develop resources in Indigenous knowledges and ways of knowing. Paul Michel to write a briefing note in support.
 - Better demographic data in the survey to see if we are targeting and achieving the closing of the achievement gaps. Is there data to support this from other institutions that we can pull on for the report? Check Open Homework Systems research.
- 3. Ken Monroe announced that Marie Bartlett will be the incoming Vice Chair, with Brenna Clarke Gray becoming Chair.